THINGS TO DO & PLACES TO SEE
ALEX SALLEY ARCHIVES BUILDING
Located on the corner of Middleton and Bull Streets in Orangeburg, the archives houses irreplaceable historical records, papers and other items relating to Orangeburg County’s past. The archives is a “must” for those interested in genealogy. Open Tuesday 9 a.m. to noon, Wednesday 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., and the first Saturday of each month 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., or by appointment. (803) 535-0022 – website: www.orangeburgh.org
Proudly the oldest historically black university in the state of South Carolina, Claflin University, located in Orangeburg on U.S. Hwy. 601, is an evolving aesthetic center of architecture and landscaping. Claflin is ranked one of the top colleges in the United States by Forbes.com for the sixth year.It is home to several buildings listed on the National Register of Historic Places, some of which date from before the turn of the 20th century.
Industrial arts students built Lee Library in 1898 from bricks fired on campus. This Victorian gem boasts remarkable ornamented masonry and retains its original pressed metal ceilings. William Wilson Cooke, the designer of the university’s first library building, was a Claflin graduate and then an instructor. The building, which now holds the Arthur Rose Museum, is open to visitors during regular business hours.
The words “Dining Hall 1913” are engraved on the gables of Ministers’ Hall, and it served that purpose through 1964. The wooden beams above the two-story commons are hand-beveled. The gables are replicated in Claflin’s newest buildings.
Built in 1908, and following another design by Cooke, Tingley Memorial Hall is on the National Register of Historic Places. Intended as an academic facility, Tingley became the college administration building in 1913 when Fisk Hall burned. Recent interior modifications have retained the Georgian architecture and original blackboards,and restored the warm pine wood work. The cupola is the most recognizable symbol of Claflin. Tingley is open to visitors during regular business hours. Ask in the President’s Office to see the historic photographs exhibited in the Board Room.
One of only a handful of antebellum structures left in Orangeburg County, once stood on Orangeburg’s Public Square,and in 1865 it was occupied by Federal troops. From 1924 to 1955 it housed the first circulating library in Orangeburg County, organized by a literary society founded in 1896 called the Dixie Club.
ELLOREE OLD TOWN DISTRICT
The district features buildings that date back to the 1900s, antique shops, gift boutiques, an art gallery, arts and crafts stores, restaurants and the Elloree Heritage Museum. Call (803)897-2821 for information.
EUTAW SPRINGS BATTLEFIELD
A monument erected on S.C. Hwy. 6 in Eutaw Springs designates this historical site as one of the bloodiest battles of the American Revolutionary War. It was the last major Revolutionary battle in South Carolina (September 8, 1781).
GREAT BRANCH ROSENWALD SCHOOL TEACHERAGE AND WELCOME CENTER
Since 1912 Rosenwald School served the heart of the African American community by providing a venue for educational and social outreach. The Teacherage, which was constructed in 1924 – 1925, was restored in 2009. The facility includes an artifacts room. The Teacherage is one of eight such facilities in existence in South Carolina and the only one restored. It is located on Hwy. 4 in the Great Branch community. For more information, please contact Rosa Kennerly-Dance at 533-1828.
HAWTHORNE SCHOOL OF AERONAUTICS (FORMER SITE)
The former site of Hawthorne School of Aeronautics sits 3 miles south of Orangeburg on U.S. Hwy. 21. A retirement community known as The Oaks now stands where the Air Force’s former primary flight school trained 5,924 American and French pilots from 1941 to 1945.Army Air Corps and Free French Forces cadets totaled nearly 330,000 flight hours learning PT-13 Stearman biplanes used by the Allies in World War II.
JUDGE GLOVER’S HOME
Located on Whitman Street in Orangeburg, Gen. William T. Sherman used this home as a headquarters on Feb.12, 1865. Built in 1846 by Thomas Glover (1798-1884), a teacher, lawyer,legislator, circuit judge and signer of the Ordinance of Secession, the house originally fronted Russell Street. It has been remodeled several times over the years.
LONE STAR BARBEQUE & MERCANTILE
These 100-year-old country stores in Santee have been authentically restored. They showcase a by gone era through their original countertops, old drink boxes, vintage displays, old photographs and a wide variety of other antiques. (803) 854-2000. website: www.lonestarbbq.net
MAJOR JOHN MARJORIBANKS’ GRAVE
This grave was originally located at Wantoot Plantation (home of Daniel Ravenel) where the British army encamped after the Battle of Eutaw Springs. Lake Moultrie now covers that site. In 1941,the grave was moved to a spot on S.C. Hwy. 6, 2.5 miles east of Eutawville at Eutaw Springs.
MIDDLEPEN PLANTATION/DONALD BRUCE HOUSE
This is the oldest home in Orangeburg County, built in 1735. The house and grounds can be seen from U.S. Hwy. 301, about 2 miles north of the Orangeburg city limits.
Located 1/2 mile east of Jamison,this is the burial site of the Miller family, one of the Orangeburg District’s oldest families. Three gravestones were erected in 1836 to John Miller(1750-1824), his wife Margaret Ott Miller and their son, John Miller, Jr.
OLD PRESBYTERIAN CEMETERY
Located on Doyle St. across from the Orangeburg County Courthouse, this cemetery was established in 1835. It serves as the final resting place for many members of the First Presbyterian Church of Orangeburg and most notably, David Jamison, founder of the Citadel and president of the South Carolina Secession Convention. The first two pastors and six founders of the church, 17 Confederate veterans and one Spanish American War veteran are interred in the cemetery in addition to about 250 others.Restoration of the cemetery began in 1997.
ORANGEBURG COUNTY FINE ARTS CENTER
Art exhibits by local artists are on display at the Lusty Gallery on the second floor of the Fine Arts Center.The permanent collection is located in the lobby. The works of local artists are available in the gift shop. Located just outside of the Edisto Memorial Gardens. (803) 536-4074
ORANGEBURG NATIONAL FISH HATCHERY
Operated by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the hatchery produces a number of species including striped bass, bluegill sunfish, lake sturgeon, and redbreast sunfish used to stock lakes and streams throughout the Southeast. It also produces short-nose sturgeon for research and development. Fish raised here can be viewed at the on-site aquarium. Visitors are welcome and special group tours may be arranged. Open weekdays from 8:00 a.m. until 3:30 p.m. (803)534-4828.
Located on Bull Street in Orangeburg, South Carolina, Pioneer Graveyard served as the burial site of many of the first Swiss and German Orangeburg Township settlers from 1735 until the founding of various other denominational cemeteries.
PRINCE OF ORANGE MALL
Shoppers can choose from 30 specialty stores as well as anchors Belk and JCPenney. Located on North Rd./U.S. 178.
RAILROAD SHRINE & MUSEUM
The old train depot in Branchville,which sits beside the tracks on U.S. Hwy. 21, now holds a railroad museum.Branchville is the home of the oldest railroad junction in the world. The museum is open by appointment (803) 707-1788.
SANTEE STATE PARK
This park, sitting along Lake Marion, is full of fishing opportunities and wildlife. Visitors can take advantage of cabins on land or piers, two lakefront camping areas, nature trails, a bike trail, a picnic area, a park store, a boat ramp, a handicap-accessible fishing pier, a meeting building and an interpretive center. Located near I-95 (Exit 98). (803) 854-2408
SOUTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY
Founded in 1896, South Carolina State University is the largest historically black university in the state. Located at 300 College St. in Orangeburg, the school is the home of generations of scholars and leaders. Lowman Hall is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The I.P. Stanback Museum & Planetarium occupies a 16,000-square-foot structure on campus. The main gallery houses all types of artwork. The planetarium features a 40-foot-high dome for stargazers.Call for an appointment. (803) 536-7174.
The town of Elloree is known for its many antique stores. Antiques and artifacts are also on display at the award-winning Elloree Heritage Museum and Cultural Center, the restored 1920s Springfield High School in Springfield and the Old Willow School in Norway.
Orangeburg County is known far and wide for delicious, ol’fashioned Carolina barbecue. Pull up a chair and sample some of the best from places like Sweatman’s Barbeque, Antley’s BarBQ, Duke’s Bar-B-Que and Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile.
Hike, bike, canoe, kayak, bird watch, fish, picnic or simply relax in Orangeburg County’s picturesque natural habitat.
EDISTO MEMORIAL GARDENS
Take time to stop and smell the roses, azaleas and other beautiful flowers at Edisto Memorial Gardens on the North Edisto River, home to the Orangeburg Festival of Roses.
Orangeburg County is home to some of the most fun-filled festivals in the state, including the Orangeburg Festival of Roses, the Raylrode Daze Festival, the Governor’s Frog Jump and International Egg Strike, the Cotton Festival, the Eutaw Village Festival, the Harvest Festival and the Holly Hill Christmas Festival.
Orangeburg draws many golfers to the area with a variety of golfing venues. Among Orangeburg’s golf options is our Orangeburg Country Club, with its 18th hole listed as the “Most Challenging Finishing Hole in the Midlands”. The site was selected as one of the states two “Best Renovations/Restorations”, and Top 30 “Best You Can Play”. Hillcrest Recreation Center, located conveniently off the interstate, offers a public golf course with tennis courts, soccer, baseball, and softball fields. It is rated as a top municipal golf course in the Carolinas. It offers a rewarding test for all golfers regardless of their skill level. Santee National Golf Club possesses all of the charms of the Carolina Low country but it is also nicely contrasted with highland terrain. There are also five sparkling lakes throughout that come into play on several holes.
The Orangeburg Chamber of Commerce invites you to sample all the courses in the area as they each boast unique outdoor experiences!
A haven for history buffs, Orangeburg County boasts more than three dozen listings on the National Registry of Historic Places. Fifteen sites in the county are included on the South Carolina Heritage Corridor.
Let the Orangeburg Part-Time Players entertain you at the Bluebird Theatre, which has been restored to its original splendor. Shows run quarterly.For information and tickets, call 803-536-5454.